Jean-Etienne Liotard, Trompe l'oeil, 1771, oil on silkrelined on canvas, The Frick Collection
Jean-Etienne Liotard, Trompe l’oeil, 1771, oil on silk relined on canvas, The Frick Collection

I don’t know what it is about still-life paintings, but I’m really crazy about them (as if I haven’t made that obvious in this blog).

I want to know why these painters were so fascinated by this genre of painting. I want to know why I’m so fascinated by them.

These miniature reliefs and little drawings on scrap paper would have never captured my attention had they been presented to me in real life the way they were depicted in this painting. But that’s making an assumption that these objects were painted just as they appeared in real life. And that’s an assumption neither you nor I can justify.

Why? Why did they keep painting these? And why are they so irresistible?

Leave a Reply

